Let’s Eat Grandma “I’m All Ears”

Let’s Eat Grandma will release their second album, I’m All Ears, on 29th June 2018 via Transgressive Records. I’m All Ears is an even greater revelation than Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth’s globally acclaimed debut, I, Gemini. The second act from the British teenage vocalists, multi-instrumentalists and songwriters, is the most startling, infectious, innovative and thrilling record you’ll hear this year. It is alive with furious pop, unapologetic grandeur, intimate ballads; with loops, Logic, outrageous 80s drum solos, as well as production from David Wrench (The xx/Frank Ocean/Caribou), SOPHIE (famed for her own material and work with Madonna, Charli XCX and Vince Staples) and Faris Badwan (The Horrors). It’s an album that cements Let’s Eat Grandma as one of the most creative and exciting bands in the world right now.

Today Let’s Eat Grandma also share a new cut from the record, the unfettered, romantic, “Falling Into Me”, which is available to stream and share HERE.

I’m All Ears is a portrait of Walton and Hollingworth’s lives over the past two years, as they have grown as musicians, but also as young women, finding their way through new territories, navigating friendships, romantic relationships, mental health and the ever-restless presence of technology. It draws on their love of PC Music, Frank Ocean, the record collections of their parents, ringtones, train journeys and vintage synths.

Rosa and Jenny were just 17 when Let’s Eat Grandma released their debut. Childhood friends who grew up writing songs that, over time, emerged into something quite magical. Call it experimental sludge pop, bubblegum-psych rock, it was a marriage of magnificence and makeshift, with synths, saxophones, clapping games and recorders, which secured them sold out shows, critical acclaim and a spellbinding turn on Jools Holland. Their audience was drawn to the strange beauty of their music, to something compelling and otherworldly. The album played on the idea of the pair’s inseparability – its title, I, Gemini, a nod to their twin-likeness, its songs revealing two strikingly similar young voices wrapped around one another, live shows and promotional photos frequently showing the pair in complementary outfits, their long hair intertwined. This time it’s different.

I’m All Ears is the work of two confident young women, very much each their own person, with their own tastes and interests. Their lyrics, too, have matured. For this record they were keen to move beyond what the band regard as the lyrical ‘crypticness’ of their debut, towards something more transparent, and at times vulnerable. “I think it’s a much more honest record. It’s very open,” says Jenny. “It is a lot about youth and young people and the experiences we have.” Throughout these songs there is recurrent imagery of trains and automobiles, of movement, shifting seasons, the sense of lives expanding. After all, this is a record written by two young women whose lives have changed unimaginably in the past two years, who have come to find the world lying open before them.

Much of the intimacy in these 12 songs comes from Jenny and Rosa’s strong bonds with each other and with their friends and cohorts. A lot of the songs are about their relationships with great people and self-discovery. Other tracks adopt a broader perspective, looking at the draw of consumerism, the pervading influence of advertising, the pull of jealousy and power.

I’m All Ears is not only the sound of a band diverging and finding their own identities, it is also the sound of two young musicians united afresh, bringing with them their individual loves, passions, experiences. It is a record, too, that is musically exceptional, lyrically remarkable, charged with wit and joy and tenderness. It is the kind of record after which everything changes.

The artwork for I’m All Ears was created by the artist and illustrator Yanjun Cheng, who paints human emotions and humanity through portraits, from a female perspective. Entitled Jenny and Rosa, Digital Painting, 2018, Yanjun said the following about her artwork: “Let’s Eat Grandma, Jenny and Rosa’s voices and their music inspired this illustration. This illustration visualized their voice from listening to the new album and expresses that one voice has two attitudes, the two voices connect like the one.”

Watch the video for their game-changing first single, “Hot Pink”, a track “about the misconceptions of femininity and masculinity and the power of embracing both of them”, which was described as “lossy, club-ready pop” by Pitchfork, “A banger, keeper, and a promise of more to come” by Vulture and “A triumph of metal echoes and clashing textures, all of which converge for a euphoric ending.” by FADER, HERE.

Following an explosive, sold out headline show at Lightbox in Vauxhall, London on March 8th 2018, Let’s Eat Grandma have announced a new show at Heaven in London for 27th September 2018. Tickets are available now here. The duo will also perform a run of UK and European headline tour dates throughout the summer.

1. Whitewater
2. Hot Pink
3. It’s Not Just Me
4. Falling Into Me
5. Snakes & Ladders
6. Missed Call (1)
7. I Will Be Waiting
8. The Cat’s Pyjamas
9. Cool & Collected
10. Ava
11. Donnie Darko

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply