New Jim Wyly Single

Jim Wyly : The Artisan
Release Date: October 5th
Radio Add Date : September 24th
Folk : Americana : Country

Jim Wyly was born and raised in Tyler, Texas and has spent the last 40 years living and playing in the Austin area. While the obvious label for his music is “Texas Songwriter”, Wyly’s sound and songs are influenced from a multitude of directions, ranging from pure folk to R&B and rock n roll. That’s not to say that Texas is not flowing through the veins of the songs he writes. For years as a member of several bands including Movin Target and The Lunar Rollers, Jim has been widely regarded by his peers as a master of the songwriting craft. At the young age of 72, Wyly is stepping away from the sound and life of being in a band and releasing his solo debut, The Artisan.

The Artisan is the result of time spent in the King Electric Studio in Austin, with first time producer and fellow songwriter Chuck Hawthorne and engineer Justin Douglas. The album is stripped down to allow the lyrical content and Wyly’s phenomenal vocal tone stand out. The Artisan serves as a perfect introduction to Jim. The songs are a culmination of 40 years of living, writing, and performing, from a man that has done his share of them all. Long time fan favorites, like “Mr. Snowman” and “Suddenly I’m Single” sit comfortably next to newer compositions such as, “You Took Me” and “Nobody Lights My Heart Like You”. Accompanying Jim on several tracks are folk blues legend, Ray Bonneville on harp, Grammy nominated country singer, Libby Koch on background vocals and violin virtuoso Javier Chaparro. The finished product, is a record that will please any fans of folk, Americana or alt country music.

Stream on Soundcloud
Download High Quality Mp3 via Dropbox

1. Mr Snowman (5:51)
2. Wildman Of The Thicket (4:29)
3. Suddenly I’m Single (4:59)
4. Nobody Lights My Heart Like You (2:53)
5. I Don’t Wanna Be There (5:25)
6. Coyotes Of Legend (4:45)
7. Red Water River Queen (4:40)
8. Someone’s Gonna Love You (3:42)
9. Please Nessie (5:36)
10 .You Took Me (4:08)
11. The Artisan (4:36)

All Tracks FCC Clean
Focus Tracks 1, 3, 5, 11
All Songs Written By : Jim Wyly

Produced by Chuck Hawthorne
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Justin Douglas

Special Guests:
Ray Bonneville : Harp Tracks 1,2,4
Javier Chaparro : Violin Tracks 3,9,11
Jorge de Armas : Percussion Tracks 2,4,7
Libby Koch Background Vocals

Upcoming Shows
September 26th SWRFA Austin TX
October 11th CD Release Liberty Tree Tavern Elgin TX
October 25th CD Release King Electric Recording Austin TX

Leave a Reply