Winners Announced For The 43rd Annual Academy of Country Music Awards on May 19, 2008


Academy Country Music AwardsENCINO, CA (June 21, 2007) – During a private industry ceremony last night, hosted by Marty Stuart, the Academy of Country Music honored country music superstars and industry leaders Harlan Howard, Waylon Jennings, Jack Lameier, Buck Owens, Dolly Parton and Don Williams for their contribution to the country music industry.

The event took place at the Tennessee State Museum in Nashville, Tennessee, where Marty Stuart’s Sparkle & Twang exhibit of personal memorabilia is on display.

Harlan Howard, Waylon Jennings, Dolly Parton and Don Williams were honored with the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award, presented to an outstanding “pioneer” of country music.

Harlan Howard was one of the most influential composers in country music. With more than 4,000 songs to his credit, Howard worked with some of the industry’s biggest names including Patsy Cline, Hank Williams Jr., Reba McEntire and more. Howard was honored posthumously.

Trisha Yearwood performed, Ralph Murphy spoke about Harlan, and Melanie Howard accepted on behalf her late father.

Waylon Jennings is known as a renaissance man in country music. Jennings crafted a new sound that combined his forceful electric guitar, rough-edged lyrics and diverse range. From Buddy Holly to Willie Nelson, Jennings has worked with the best in the business. He is also known worldwide for writing and performing the theme song from The Dukes of Hazzard. Jennings will be honored posthumously.

Ray Scott performed, Nikki Mitchell spoke on behalf of Jessi Colter, and Buddy Jennings accepted on behalf of his late brother.

Dolly PartonDolly Parton is by far one of the most popular country icons of all time. From “I Will Always Love You” to her Oscar nominated song “Travelin’ Thru,” Parton has many hits spanning her long career. She is also known for breaking down barriers for women in country music. Parton is known as a philanthropist as well, providing books to schools across the country and scholarships to children from her home state of Tennessee.

Ashley Monroe and Rhonda Vincent performed, Porter Wagoner spoke about Dolly, and Dolly Parton accepted.

“This is a great honor. Course when they told me I was winning the Pioneer Award, I thought well how appropriate cause I remember when me and Porter came to Nashville in our covered wagon,” joked Parton during her acceptance speech.

Don Williams is a legendary singer and song writer in the country world. After seven years with the folk group Pozo Seco Singers, Williams started a solo career that lead to 17 number one hits. Williams also developed a style that had gently paced love songs with simple arrangements, vocals and sentiments. This style was Williams’ signature when collaborating with other artists. After much success in the United States, Williams frequently tours the United Kingdom and South Africa.

Roger Cook performed, Robert Pratt spoke about Don, and Robert Pratt accepted on behalf of his longtime management client.

Past honorees of the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award have included Alabama, Johnny Cash, Merle Haggard, George Jones, Loretta Lynn, Willie Nelson, Tex Ritter, Hank Williams Sr., and Bob Wills, among others.

Buck Owens was honored with the Jim Reeves International Award, presented to an individual, not necessarily an artist, for outstanding contribution to the acceptance of country music throughout the world. Owens is one of the most admired country idols of all time. In his astonishing career, he had 26 consecutive hits and was honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Owens’ influence on country music can be heard today by Dwight Yoakam, Brad Paisley and countless others who carry his legacy and introduce a new generation to his style. Owens will be honored posthumously. Past honorees of the the Jim Reeves International Award have included Roy Clark, Merv Griffin, Charlie Nagatani, and Louise Scruggs, among others.

Connie Smith performed, Storme Warren spoke about Buck, Jerry Hufford accepted on behalf of Buck.

Jack Lameier was honored with the Mae Boren Axton Award, given in recognition of years of dedication and service by an outstanding individual to the Academy of Country Music. Lameier served on the Academy of Country Music Board of Directors for 28 years and was President for two of those years. His career in music includes more than 40 years at Sony, and he is a veteran in radio promoting and DJing. In 2006, he received the President’s Award from the Country Radio Broadcasters. Past honorees of the Mae Boren Axton Award have included Gaynelle Pitts, Gene Weed, Ray Pilzak and Marge Meoli.

Ty Herndon performed, John Dorris spoke about Jack, Jack Lameier accepted.

The ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC, an artist and industry-driven organization, exists to produce a world-class network television awards show, and its associated events, to provide the financial resources to ensure the on-going philanthropic work of its Charitable Fund. Academy of Country Music Charitable Fund promotes and supports music education and humanitarian programs that transform the human spirit. Through its charitable donations, the ACMCF works towards two main goals: encouraging Learning Through Music and Healing Through Music. The Academy, which is comprised of more than 4,500 professional members and more than 40,000 associate members, was established in 1964 and is headquartered in Encino, Calif.

The ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS is produced for television by dick clark productions. The show is executive produced by Allen Shapiro and R.A. Clark, produced by Barry Adelman and directed by Louis J. Horvitz. The executive in charge of production is Bob Bardo, and the executive in charge is Francis LaMaina.

For more information on the ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS and the ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC, please visit For more information on the ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC CHARITABLE FUND, please visit

Academy of Country Music Index

Music Home | Country Music

Entertainnment Magazine

2007 Music Entertainment Magazine. All rights reserved.

Dolly Parton CDs

Harlan Howard CDs

Waylon Jennings CDs

Buck Owens CDs